Junior Composers winners 2016

We are pleased to announce the results of the 2016 Missouri FMC Junior Composers Contest.  Each participant is to be congratulated on their achievement.  Special congratulations go to those participants that were selected for Regional Competition (MO, AR, KS, OK, TX).  We wish each student the very best in the Regional Competition.

Once again the judge for the contest was Dr. Michael Murray, professor of composition at Missouri State University.  We are grateful for his continued support of the composition contest.


Class I
No entries.
Class II
1st place – Ellie Garrett; Springfield, Missouri; “Moonbeams”
                   Teacher – Vicki Cooper
2nd place – Braxton Page; Excelsior Springs, Missouri; “Creepy Mansion”
                    Teacher – Dorothy Boguske-Mullikin
Class III
1st place – Sarah Miller; Springfield, MO; “The Last Dragon”
                   Teacher – Leann Rodman
2nd place – Emily Shaw; Strafford, MO; “Bridge to the Moon”
                    Teacher – Melissa Duncan
Class IV
1st place – Cameron Haslam; Springfield, MO; “Climbing the Wall of the Desert”
                   Teacher – Cindy Dittrich